2014 Nobel Prize in Physics


Dr Anthony Jacko, The University of Queensland
This colloquium will be held in Parnell (07) 222 at 3pm.

The 2014 Nobel Prize in physics was awarded to Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano, and Shuji Nakamura “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources”. I will give a non-technical description of the physics behind their invention, as well as the historical context and controversies around this particular prize.

Dr Anthony Jacko – Why is blue important? Nobel Prize colloquium 2014 from School of Mathematics & Physics on Vimeo.