Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 – What’s the difference between icecream and neutrinos?


Mr James Bennett, UQ (EQuS)
This colloquium will be held 3 pm, 23rd October, in Parnell 07-222.

What do 1988, 1995 and 2002 have in common? In each of these years the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded for research into the elusive properties of neutrinos. The trend continues in 2015, with the Nobel Prize in Physics being awarded jointly to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald “for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.” In this colloquium I will unpack some of the background of this year’s Prize & its recipients, and answer some questions about the ghostly neutrino.